What's the difference in privileges between admins and managers?

Admins have basically the same privileges as the owner of the account. They can update company details, invite new contractors, approve and schedule payments, etc. They can't invite other admins, only the owner can do it.

Managers have limited access to your account. They can only see and approve expenses of their direct reports (if you have any employees, not contractors). Optionally, you can give them permission to make payments to contractors, but only the ones they manage. They won’t see the payment history of everyone else.

If you invite someone as a manager but don’t assign them to any of your team members, they won’t be able to do anything in Pilot.

To invite a new admin or manager:

  • Go to the Settings tab.

  • Click on 'Add new admin' or 'Add new manager' and fill in their emails address and name.

  • They'll get invited to create an account on Pilot.

  • To remove an admin or a manager or to resend an invitation click on the three purple dots on the right.

To promote a manager to an admin:

  • Go to the Settings tab.

  • Choose a manager you want to promote, click on the three purple dots on the right and click 'Promote to admin'.

  • You can also demote admins to managers in exact same way.

Note that only the owner of the account can promote or demote users.

To assign managers to team members:

  • Go to the People tab and choose a contractor you want to assign a manager to.

  • Click on the 'Edit' button in the top right corner and assign a manager by picking the right person from a dropdown list.

  • To save the information click 'Update'.

  • If you wish to bulk-assign many contractors to one manager get in touch with us at support@pilot.co.

Did this answer your question?