Terminating the agreement

If you no longer work with a contractor you may want to terminate a contract with them. To terminate an agreement with a contractor:

  1. Log in to your account on manage.pilot.co and go to the People tab.

  2. Go to the Contractors tab and click the arrow to the right of the contractor.

  3. Click on 'View' next to the Contract on the right-hand side of the page. If there is more than one contract, click the arrow to the right of the contract that you'd like to terminate.

  4. In the Contract page, click on the three purple dots in the upper-right corner and select 'Terminate'. Click 'Yes, terminate agreement.'

If the contractor was attached to a pay schedule you'll need to remove them manually if you won't archive them. See the section below titled Detaching a contractor from a pay schedule.

Archiving a contractor

After terminating the contract you can archive the contractor so that they can no longer take actions in their account, such as submitting a payment request, and so that they no longer show on the list of active contractors. To archive a contractor:

  1. Go to the People tab.

  2. Click on the three purple dots next to the name of the contractor.

  3. Click 'Archive'.

  4. The archived contractor will see in their Pilot account that their profile was archived. While they will be able to see historic account data, such as past payment requests and expense reports, they will no longer be able to submit new payment requests or new expense reports, or create other new documents.

If the contractor was attached to a pay schedule you'll be notified that they'll be removed once archived. You won't need to manually remove them from the pay schedule if you archive them.

Detaching a contractor from a pay schedule

To remove a contractor from a pay schedule, you can choose from two options:

  1. People tab option:

    1. Go to the People tab and locate the contractor. Click the arrow to the right of that contractor.

    2. On the contractor's details page, locate the Pay schedule section and click 'Remove.'

    3. Click 'OK.'

  2. Company tab option:

    1. In the Company tab, click on ‘Pay schedules’ in the upper right-hand corner.

    2. Scroll down to the People section, and select the checkbox(es) next to the applicable contractor(s).

    3. Click ‘Update pay schedule’ at the top of the People section, and select 'None' as the pay schedule.

    4. Click 'Update.'

By detaching a contractor from a pay schedule, you ensure that no other payment will be sent to them automatically.

If you have any questions, don't hesitate to reach out to us at support@pilot.co, or using the live chat option at manage.pilot.co.

Did this answer your question?